Idea Maker

Content Writing Team

Share This Article

What Is the SDLC Checklist?

A Software Development Life Cycle (SDLC)An SDLC checklist is a guide that enables software development teams to ensure they follow all the crucial steps throughout the SDLCSoftware Development Life Cycle (SDLC). It essentially breaks down the SDLC phases into actionable steps, ensuring that no critical details are missed.

What Are the 7 Phases of a Software Development Life Cycle?

The 7 phases of the software development life cycle are as follows:

  • Planning phase – the project’s groundwork is laid by defining scope, identifying functionalities, and allocating resources.
  • Analysis phase – a deeper understanding of end- user needs and requirements is gained through methods such as end- user interviews and creating user stories.
  • Design phase – requirements are translated into a technical blueprint, encompassing architecture, user interface UI mockups, and system design documents.
  • Implementation/Coding phase – programmers breathe life into the design through coding, unit testing, and module integration.
  • Testing phase – ensures your software functions as intended, is free of bugs, performs well, and is secure.
  • Deployment phase – marks the launch of your new software as it is released to end-users through either a phased rollout or full deployment.
  • Maintenance phase – ensures your software continues to function as planned, addressing bugs, incorporating user feedback, and maintaining security and compatibility with evolving technologies.

What Is the Purpose of a Checklist in Software Testing?

Software testing checklists are vital to ensure your new software functions as planned prior to launch. They act as a guide, outlining various tests to assess functionality, performance, and more. They help to identify areas for improvement and ensure nothing critical is missed.

Checklists can be customized and promote collaboration between testers and developers, ultimately leading to a smoother development process and a high-quality final product.

What Are the Six Steps of Software Development?

The six stages of software development best practices checklist can be summarized as follows:

  • Plan & Analyze: Define what your software needs to do and how it will meet user needs.
  • Design: Create a blueprint for your software’s structure and functionality.
  • Build: Write the code to bring your design to life.
  • Test: Rigorously check for bugs and ensure everything works as intended.
  • Launch: Release your software to end users.
  • Maintain: Keep your software up-to-date, address issues, and add new features.

Set Up a Free Consultation

Leave us a Message

    * Indicates required field